You Gotta Move

Sunrise-set, June, North Ronaldsay, Orkney, Scotland

Sunrise-set, June, North Ronaldsay, Orkney, Scotland

 

And do this, understanding the present time, the hour has come for you to wake up from you slumber, because our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed. The night is nearly over, the day is almost here…– Romans 13:11,12

I’m not a fan of end-times stuff. I figure my end-time could be any time – I may live to 100, I might get hit by a bus tomorrow. You just never know, so you always have to be ready – ready to move.

By the same token, I also don’t like the idea that my salvation only matters for my future – my get into heaven free card, if you will. If Jesus doesn’t matter in my everyday life, then I’m not really interested. It’s too hard to live in the future, I want to live in the present, to BE present. Jesus does matter in my life today – I have come so that you have life in abundance – not life in the future.

You gotta move, you gotta move,

You gotta move child, ‘cause when the Lord gets ready

You gotta move, you gotta move…

 

Hope-filled Sunset South Ronaldsay, Orkney, Scotland

Hope-filled Sunset South Ronaldsay, Orkney, Scotland

One of the things I love about Spirituals is their simplicity and the way their authors are so hopeful despite the circumstances of life.

 

You may be up, you may be down

You may be six feet underground

You may be high, you may be low

You may be rich, you may be poor

But when the Lord gets ready

You gotta move, you gotta move…

 

This traditional spiritual was first recorded in the 1940s. When you consider that the original writer was quite likely a slave (and if not a slave, then certainly an oppressed person) it’s remarkable how someone in that context is able to see him/herself equal in the eyes of the Lord. It doesn’t really matter what your status, when the Lord gets ready, then honey, you better be ready to move! The way I look at it, it means being ready to listen and respond to whatever the Lord is asking of you, every day, not just your last day. What is Jesus prompting me to do today? Think of this in light of Good Friday: even in death, he was listening to the prompting of the Spirit – taking care of his friends, taking care of his mother, taking care of the thieves crucified with him, forgiving every blasted person around him. Jesus life was so abundant that even in death, he was giving life to those around him, just like he’d done throughout his earthly life.

 

put on your dancin' shoes, cause you gotta move!

put on your dancin’ shoes, cause you gotta move!

I think the Romans passage above can be read in that context too – we need to live out our salvation every day, not live like sleepwalkers waiting for the end.

 

And this song, people, is going to make you move. Seriously. I dare you to sit still.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

