Love Comes Down

love on fire

You can’t beat the heat
He’s red hot on your trail
He’s the love enforcer

an’ He’s paid your bail
It’s much more than emotion,

It’s not just in your head
You gotta die to get life…

 …That’s the way it is with Him!

That’s when the Love comes down…

 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.1 John 4

When I read the Bible, I see a pattern of pursuit: humankind turns its back on God until we realize we screwed up and when we turn around to come home, we find God already running towards us. Like the story of the lost son – But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.” (Luke 15:20).

If there’s a way to describe God’s love, it might be “relentless”. When I think of my own life, there are countless times when I’ve turned my back on God, when I’ve felt completely alone and was so angry with God for abandoning me in my despair, only to realize He was actually carrying me through whatever crap it was I was going through at the time. He chased me around. Sometimes I was running away, sometimes I was just so sad or hurt or angry that I didn’t even realize I was shutting God out… and then, when I’d give up and turn back, God was there, waiting, loving me anyway. That’s relentless love.

REZphoto

This song, by the Resurrection Band (also known as the Rez Band) is classic 80s Christian-rock. The band was formed in the 70s as part of the Jesus People movement and their blend of blues and hard rock was truly cutting edge. Christianity Today called them “the most influential band in Christian music history.” Love Comes Down reminds us of God’s relentless pursuit of us – so strong was His love for humankind that He was willing to sacrifice His Son for us. So strong was Jesus’ love for humankind that He was willing to be sacrificed. That is love.

When my 21- year-old son discovered this song, it drew him in. “This is how we have to start the Good Friday Blues service, mom. Remind everyone that this is how God loves us. Melt their faces.” So that’s what we’re doing. Look out behind you , here it comes: Relentless love.

How have you experienced God’s love in your life?

Leave a Reply

