Can’t no grave

empty tomb and crosses

It was early one morning

Just about the break of day

The angels came in glory

And rolled the stone, stone away

When the women came along

And they found the Saviour was gone

Can’t no grave

Hold my body down

 

O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory? – 1Corinthians 15:55

 

The nice thing about living on this side of the resurrection is that we know how the story ends. I often try to imagine what it was like for the disciples, for the women who came to the tomb, for his other followers as they watched Jesus die. Even if I’d had the wherewithal to remember what Jesus said about rising again, would I have had the faith to believe it after watching that death? I honestly don’t know. Jesus’ last words were “It is finished” not “I’ll be back” (Egads. Let’s hope they never give that role to Arnold.)

Some people would question whether or not there’s sufficient faith to believe it even now. Well, I do have an answer for that: yes. Yes! I believe that Jesus died and was buried. And I believe that he rose from the dead 3 days later. There’s simply too much evidence to suggest otherwise: no body and eye-witness accounts from more than just his closest friends. But even stronger than that for me is my own encounters with Jesus; the irrefutable presence of Jesus in my life, the uncanny answers to prayer, the ways in which I have seen Jesus at work in the lives of others. You just can’t make this stuff up – at least I can’t. I know that detractors would call me naïve or romantic or just plain ignorant. Call me what you want, I know what I know: Jesus died, yes. He was buried, yes. He rose again, yes. He is alive. YES.

 

Can’t no grave hold my body down

Can’t no grave hold my body down

When the first trumpet sounds

I’m gonna get up out of the ground

Can’t no grave hold my down

 

 This song, by Mike Farris and the Cumberland Saints, is our encore – words of hope for the weary, for the doubters, for the scared, for the sick-at-heart, the wounded, the skeptics, for all. It’s sung with conviction. It’s sung with celebration. It is meant to look from Good Friday to the end; a teaser trailer, if you will.

The Good Friday Blues services are one week away. Have you got your ticket yet?

2 responses to “Can’t no grave

  • Dale Munk

    I am writing to request the use of the image of the crosses from the tumb from your blog. I would like to use it for Easter this spring as the front of a mailer we will be using that is sent out to about 2,000 homes around our church.

    Thank You in advance.

    Dale Munk

Leave a Reply

