Hello Hurricane

Hurricane-111

Hello hurricane

You’re not enough

Hello hurricane

You can’t silence my love

I’ve got doors and windows

Boarded up

All your dead-end fury is

Not enough

You can’t silence my love…

 

For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:38-39

We believe that Jesus was fully human/fully divine – the Son of God, the Son of Man – and I believe that he experienced this dichotomy most fully on Good Friday. Not only did he as a human have to endure a most horrible death, he also had to take the weight of humanity’s sin on his innocent shoulders. Talk about enduring a storm.

And yet, love could not be silenced. Nothing can separate us from the love of God, which is IN Jesus, Jesus who demonstrated God’s love by dying for us while we were yet sinners.

hurricane aftermath painting

This song, indeed Switchfoot’s whole album of this title, was written with these themes in mind. The lyrics for the song came after the band worked with Habitat for Humanity to build a home for a woman who had to rebuild her life after Hurricane Katrina. In an article in The Examiner, lead singer Jon Forman said:

The hurricane had taken her city, her house, and her leg. As she relocated to Baton Rouge and learned how to walk as an amputee, her mantra was this: “I walked out of my house and my life in New Orleans on my own legs, I’m going to walk into this one the same way.” This is the spirit that I wanted to capture with this song, and moreover with this record. The storms of life might take my house, my loved ones, or even my life- but they cannot silence my love.

Our services begin with a song that speaks to the idea of embracing the storms of life,  – “When that love comes open up your door and let it in” – the idea that we cannot run away, so we face our storms, we choose hope, we know that we are in the hands of God who loves us deeply. It ends with this song, an expression of defiance in the face of storms: I’ve got my doors and windows boarded up, nothing will shake me from my foundation which is Jesus – BRING IT ON!

song-of-storms-and-lighthouse-arin-rajawali

I’ve had to face a few storms in my own life, the worst of which were the deaths of two of my children. My testimony is this: I could not have endured those storms without God. In the raging storm of my grief, God whispered to me: I know what it is that you feel, I know what it is to lose a child. It was not a minimization of my loss, it was an acknowledgement, which was what I needed. And with that acknowledgement came a depth of love and care that I had never before experienced. God’s love could not be silenced not even by my own dead-end fury, not even by death. I hope that I’ve learned to be loud and expansive with God’s love as a result of that – as loud and expansive as this song.

How do you relate to the words of this song?

Leave a Reply

