Calvary

calvary4

Calvary, Calvary

Surely he died on Calvary

 

Every time I think about Jesus, surely he died on Calvary…

Don’t you hear the hammer ringing? surely he died on Calvary…

Don’t you hear him calling his father? surely he died on Calvary…

Don’t you hear him say “It is finished”? surely he died on Calvary…

Jesus furnished my salvation… surely he died on Calvary…

Sinner, do you love my Jesus? surely he died on Calvary…

 

This is a song made for weeping and mourning. It is raw with feeling and the up and down nature of the melody is an apt reflection of the roller-coaster of emotions that one might have as one ponders the things that happened on Calvary. Clearly, this was written by a person with a vivid imagination, who has placed herself in the scene at the cross and comes through that meditation with the firm conviction – surely – that Jesus died on Calvary.

 

Listen, can you hear the hammer ringing on the nails as they pound them into Jesus’ flesh?

 

Listen, can you hear him calling – My God! My God! Why have you forsaken me? Does it make your heart break to hear it?

 

Listen, what is he saying? He’s saying “It’s finished.” What’s finished? Oh… that. That! Jesus furnished my salvation!

 

Hey you! Sinner! Do you love my Jesus? Because I sure do. How can I not love him?  Because while I was yet a sinner, he died – a horrible, lonely death – for me. That’s love, people.

 

mahalia wearing a cross necklace

One of my favourite recordings of this song is done by Mahalia Jackson. That woman defines soul. We used her recording for inspiration as we prepared for this one. It will have that same, lonely, aching quality to it when you hear it on Good Friday. I hope you’ll be moved to the same conviction that Jesus died for you and me. Surely.

Leave a Reply

