Storm Comin’

Lightning strikes near Baker, California during monsoon storm

When that storm comes, don’t run for cover

Don’t run from the comin’ storm ‘cause there ain’t no use in runnin’

When that rain falls let it wash away

Let it wash away the tears and the troubles

Then those lights flash, hear that thunder roar

When you listen to that thunder roar, let your spirit soar

When that Love comes, open up your door

You gotta stand on up and let in, you gotta let Love through your door

When that storm comes, don’t run for cover

Don’t run from the comin’ storm, ‘cause you can’t keep the storm from comin’

 

rainstorm

Anyone who has been caught in a storm knows that there’s not much you can do but ride it out. You can’t stop it and if you’re in the middle of it, you can’t out-run it. You just have to live through it and see what comes out the other side.

Jesus knew this. He prayed, fervently, desperately, knowing that what was coming was going to be unimaginably horrible: physically, mentally, spiritually. You and I cannot even begin to fathom Jesus’ reality. But his prayer didn’t end with “please make it stop” – it ended with “let your will be done.”

And what happened then? Angels came to comfort him, to give him the strength he needed to face it and get through it.

When I am facing a storm, I just want to run away. I pray “please make it stop.” It rarely does. But I have been in the midst of many storms and can honestly say that God always answered my prayer – not necessarily by making it stop in the way I wanted it to stop, but by giving me comfort that eventually washed away the tears and the troubles, by giving strength so my spirit could soar. I had to be willing to open up the door – to say ‘your will be done” – so that the God of Love could come in and walk me through it. I think that’s why this song resonated so strongly with me when I first heard it.

401 Highland_Light_Show

Ruth Moody writes the best gospel songs. What’s interesting about that statement is that Ruth doesn’t come from a Christian faith tradition, as far as I know, she is not a believer. (Although, this is one of those cases where I think I might say, she is but she just doesn’t know it yet.) She’s written quite a few songs that I think could be done in the context of a Christian church service. When I first heard this one, I knew that we’d have to do it at our Good Friday Blues service and in fact, it became the anchor song around which we built the rest of the service.

As you reflect on the text of this song, consider how have you experienced the storms of your own life. Maybe you’re in the middle of one now – does this song give you courage or comfort?

2 responses to “Storm Comin’

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

